Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

SC's Thayer Hall named 2018 NHSCA Volleyball Athlete of the Year

Thursday, April 19, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Thayer Hall of Dorman High School in Roebuck, South Carolina as the 2017-2018 NHSCA National High School Senior Volleyball Athlete of the Year.


Hall, who has accepted a scholarship to play volleyball at the University of Florida, led her school to a South Carolina 5A state championship and a No. 7 ranking in the USA TODAY Super 25 national volleyball rankings. She finished the season with 638 kills, 361 digs, 43 service aces and 36 blocks. She is a three-time South Carolina Class 5A Player of the Year, plus a member of the U.S Women’s Junior National Team.


Hall, who carries a 4.94 grade point average, was also named Gatorade’s National Volleyball Player of the Year and she’s a two-time winner of South Carolina’s Gatorade Volleyball Player of the Year.


“Thayer is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Thayer has excelled in athletics and in the classroom.  We congratulate her on an outstanding high school career and wish her good luck at the University of Florida.”


Hall is the first Nebraska student-athlete to win the NHSCA Volleyball Athlete of the Year Award. 


This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2017-18 school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Digital Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Volleyball Athlete of the Year:

2017 – Brooke Heyne, Skutt Catholic HS, Nebraska

2016 – Khalia Lanier, Xavier College Prep, Arizona

2015 – Alexa Smith, Lewis-Palmer HS, Colorado

2014 – Alexa Filley – Assumption HS, Kentucky

2013 – Amber & Kadie Rolfzen – Papillion-La Vista South HS, Nebraska

2012 – Jordan Burgess – Berkeley HS, Florida

2011 – Courtney Van Groningen – Sterling HS, Nebraska

2010 – Morgan Broekhuis – Colorado Springs Christian, Colorado

2009 - Gina Mancuso – Papillion-La Vista South HS, Nebraska

2008 – Kelly Murphy – Joliet Catholic Academy, Illinois

2007 – Alix Klineman – Mira Costa HS, California

2006 – Megan Hodge – Riverside HS, North Carolina

2005 – Cynthia Barboza – Long Beach Wilson HS, California

2004 – Angit McGinnis – Fraser HS, Michigan

2003 – Kristin Richards – Timpanogos HS, Utah

2002 – Bre Ladd – Canyon del Oro, Arizona

2001 – Jennifer Saleaumua – Bonita Vista HS, California

2000 – Laura Grote – Westwood HS, Texas

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal