Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Georgia's Jenna Brown named the 2018 Girls' Basketball Athlete of the Year

Tuesday, April 17, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Jenna Brown of The Lovett School in Atlanta, Georgia as the 2017-2018 NHSCA National High School Senior Girls’ Basketball Athlete of the Year. 


Brown is considered a 5-star recruit. After missing her entire junior year with a knee injury, Jenna bounced back this past season by averaging 24 points per game with 9.5 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 2.4 steals per contest. She led her team to a 25-5 record, advancing to the Class AAA quarterfinals. In 2016, she was a member of the USA Basketball Under-17 National Team that won a bronze medal at the World Championships.


Brown, who maintains an A-average in the classroom and volunteers in the community, was Gatorade’s Georgia Girls Basketball Player of the Year.  She will attend Stanford University on a basketball scholarship


“Jenna is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Jenna has excelled on the court and off.  We congratulate her on an outstanding high school career and wish her good luck in college at Stanford University.”


Jenna is the third Georgia girls’ high school basketball player to win this award. Maya Moore of Collins High School won the award in 2007 and Alison Thomason of Pickens County High School picked up the honor in 2000.


This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Digital Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Girls’ Basketball Athlete of the Year:

2017 – Megan Walker, Monacan HS, Virginia

2016 -  Crystal Dangerfield, Blackman HS, Tennessee

2015 – Katie Lou Samuelson, Mater Dei HS, California

2014 – Tyra Buss – Mount Carmel HS, Mt. Carmel, Illinois

2013 – Saniya Chong – Ossining HS, New York

2012 – Breanna Stewart – Cicero-North Syracuse HS, New York

2011 – Elisabeth Williams – Princess Anne HS, Virginia

2010 -  Chiney Ogwumike – Cypress-Fairbanks HS, Texas

2009 – Skylar Diggins – Washington HS, Indiana

2008 – Elena DelleDonne – Ursuline Academy, Delaware

2007 -  Maya Moore – Collins Hill HS, Georgia

2006 -  Tina Charles – Christ the King, New York

2005 -  Abby Waner – Thunder Ridge HS, Colorado

2004 -  Candace Parker – Naperville HS, Illinois

2003 – Brittany Hunter – Brookhaven HS, Ohio

2002 – Ann Strother – Highlands Ranch HS, Colorado

2001 – Shyra Ely – Ben Davis HS, Indiana

2000 – Alison Thomason – Pickens County HS, Georgia

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal