Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Washington's Freddie Rehkow named NHSCA Girl's Basketball Coach of the Year

Monday, April 16, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is proud to announce Freddie Rehkow, head coach at Central Valley High School in Spokane Valley, Washington, as its 2017-18 National High School Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year. 


Rehkow led his team to its second Washington Class 4A title in the last three years while going 81-1. Rehkow and Central Valley then capped off a perfect 29-0 season by beating Hamilton Heights Christian from Tennessee for the GEICO High School Nationals championship, which landed the Bears No. 4 in the national in the USA TODAY Super 25 national rankings. Rehkow was named the News Tribune’s Coach of the Year.


The team dedicated the 2017-18 season to Rehkow’s youngest son Cameron who is battling leukemia. Rehkow is the first coach from Washington to win the National Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Rehkow,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Freddie has done an outstanding job of elevating Central Valley to national prominence with a great record of leading his student-athletes on the court and in the classroom.”


Throughout 2018, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Digital Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year:

2017 – Randy Coffman, Riverdale HS, Tennessee

2016 – Antwain Scales, Wichita South Kansas

2015 – Chad Hibdon, Blackman HS, Tennessee

2014 – Mike Kopp, Allentown Central Catholic HS, Pennsylvania

2013 – Miner Webster, Highland HS, Arizona

2012 – David Schlabach – Hiland HS, Ohio

2011 – Kevin Kiernan – Mater Dei HS, California

2010 -  Cathy Self-Morgan – Duncanville HS – Texas

2009 – Brian Harrigan – Sacred Heart Cathedral HS, California

2008 -  Dorothy Gaters – John Marshall HS, Illinois

2007 -  Leta Andrews – Granbury HS, Texas

2006 -  Bob Mackey – Christ the King HS, New York

2005 -  Brad Smith – Oregon City HS, Oregon

2004 – Ed Grezinsky – Murry Bergtraum HS, New York

2003 – Joe Lombard – Canyon HS, Texas

2002 – Dave Houle – Mountain View HS, Utah

2001 – James Anderson – Narbonne HS, California

2000 – Gerald Whaley – William Mason HS, Ohio

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal