Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

NJ's Gabby Andretta named 2017-2018 Field Hockey Athlete of the Year

Friday, April 13, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Gabby Andretta of Oak Knoll School in Summit, New Jersey as the 2017-2018 NHSCA National High School Senior Field Hockey Athlete of the Year.



Andretta closed-out her incredible scholastic career by becoming New Jersey’s first hockey player to score 100 goals and 100 assists in her career. Gabby led Oak Knoll to its third Non-Public Schools state championship in four years, plus a Tournament of Champions championship by scoring 40 goals with 35 assists. She finished her career with 106 goals and 107 assists.



Andretta was named first team All-State and New Jersey’s Field Hockey Player of the Year by The National Field Hockey Coaches Association honored Gabby with its Scholar of Distinction, which is bestowed upon players with a grade point average above 3.9 in the classroom. Andretta will be attending Princeton University in the fall.



“Gabby is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Gabby has excelled both on the field and in the classroom throughout high school. We congratulate Gabby on an brilliant high school career.”



Andretta is the fifth winner of the National Senior Field Hockey Player of the Year Award from New Jersey. Previous winners are: Austyn Cuneo (2015) of Eastern High School, Carol Middough (2014) of Shore Regional High School, Lexi Smith (2013) of Florence High School and Lori Hillman (2002) of Eastern High School.



This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2017-18 school year.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Digital Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.



Past selections for Senior National Field Hockey Player of the Year:

2017 – Kourtney Kennedy, Watertown HS, Massachusetts

2016 – Haley Schleicher, First Colonial HS, Virginia

2015 – Austyn Cuneo, Eastern HS, New Jersey

2014 – Carol Middough, Shore Regional HS, New Jersey

2013 – Lexi Smith – Florence HS, New Jersey

2012 – Emma Bozek – Lakeland HS, New York

2011 – Maxine Fluharty – Sussex Technical HS, Delaware

2010 – Marta Malmberg – Marathon Central HS, New York

2009 – Kelsey Kolojejchick – Wyoming Seminary, Pennsylvania

2008 - Katie Reinprecht – Mount St. Joseph Academy, Pennsylvania

2007 - Katelyn Falgowski – St. Mark’s HS, Delaware

2006 - Amie Survilla – Crestwood HS, Pennsylvania

2005 – Katy LePage – Skowhegan HS, Maine

2004 – Caitlin Williams – St. Thomas Aquinas School, New Hampshire

2003 – Laree Beans – Emmaus HS, Pennsylvania

2002 - Lori Hillman – Eastern Regional HS, New Jersey

2001 – Carey Fetting-Smith – Bryn Mawr School for Girls, Maryland

2000 - Jacque LaFleur – Bel Air HS, Maryland

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal