Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Michigan's Olivia Theis is the 2017-2018 Girls' Cross Country Athlete of the Year!

Monday, April 9, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |



The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Olivia Theis of Lansing Catholic High School in Lansing, Michigan as the winner of 2017-18 NHSCA National High School Senior Girls’ Cross Country Athlete of the Year Award. 


Theis closed-out her scholastic career by finishing third at the national Football Locker Cross County Championships, earning All-American honors.  The 5-foot-6 senior won the Michigan Division 2 championship, which helped her school win the overall team championship.


In the classroom, Theis maintains a perfect 4.0 grade point average.  She volunteers in her community, serving as a student ambassador and a peer leader at Lansing Catholic. Theis, who has accepted a scholarship to run at the University of Michigan in the fall, was also named Gatorade’s Michigan Girls’ Cross Country Runner of the Year.


“Olivia is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Olivia has excelled on the cross country course and in the classroom.  We congratulate her on an outstanding high school career and wish her good luck in college at the University of Michigan.”


Theis is the second Michigan runner to win the award. Rochester’s Megan Goethals won the award in 2011.


This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA is honoring achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2017-18 school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame Museum that currently under design.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Girls’ Cross Country Athlete of the Year:

2017 -- Brie Oakley, Grandview HS, Colorado

2016 – Katie Rainsberger, Air Academy HS, Colorado

2015 – Anna Rohrer, Mishawaka HS, Indiana

2014 – Tessa Barrett, Abington Heights HS, Pennsylvania

2013 – Catarina Rocha – Peabody HS, Massachusetts

2012 – Molly Seidel – University Lake School, Wisconsin

2011 – Aisling Cuffe – Corwall Central HS, New York

2010 – Megan Goethals – Rochester HS, Michigan

2009 – Jordan Hasay – Mission Prep, California

2008 - Christine Babcock – Woodbridge HS, California

2007 – Marie Lawrence – Reno HS, Nevada

2006 – Aislinn Ryan, Warwick Valley HS, New York

2005 – Ramsey Kavan – Yankton HS, South Dakota

2004 – Sunni Olding – Minster HS, Ohio

2003 – Amber Harper – Orem HS, Utah

2002 - Amber Trotter – Ukiah HS, California

2001 – Sara Bei – Montgomery HS, California

2000 – Victoria Chang – Punahou School, Hawaii

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal