Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

VA's Marc Hunter named 2017-2018 Boys' Cross Country Coach of the Year

Wednesday, February 7, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


February 7, 2018 - The National High School Coaches Association is proud to announce Marc Hunter, head coach at Loudoun Valley High School in Purcellville, Virginia as the 2017-2018 National High School Boys’ Cross Country Coach of the Year.


Coach Hunter led Loudoun Valley to its third straight Virginia Class 4A championship with a state record 15 points.  The top five runners at the state championships were all Loudoun Valley Vikings. Loudoun Valley then capped the season with a national championship by finishing first at the National Cross Nationals.


After winning the national championship, Hunter told the Washington Post, “The boys were outstanding. They had a bull’s eye on their back early in the season, and it didn’t affect them at all. I’m just amazed at the stress these guys could’ve — maybe even should’ve — had, and they just didn’t let it affect them at all.”


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Hunter,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Marc and his runners had an outstanding season. He’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”


Hunter is the first Virginia high school boy’s cross country coach to receive the honor.


Throughout 2018, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community for the 2017-18 school year by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy. In addition, the honoree will be featured in the The NHSCA Digital National High School Sports Hall of Fame, which is currently being designed.


Past NHSCA National High School Boys’ Cross County Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Timo Mostert – American Fork HS, Utah

2016 – Doug Soles – Great Oak HS, California

2015 - Ken Skelly – La Salle Academy, Rhode Island

2014 – Mark Wieczorek – Gig Harbor HS, Washington

2013 – Jeff Morris – Perham HS, Minnesota

2012 – Laurens TenKate – Calvin Christian HS, Michigan

2011 – Adam Kedge – Albuquerque Academy, New Mexico

2010 – Walt Lang – Jesuit HS, California

2009 – Mike Holman – Lawrence Central HS, Indiana

2008 – Van Rose – Shawnee Mission Northwest HS, Kansas

2007 – Bill Greiten – Gillett HS, Wisconsin

2006 – Rick Baker – Hopi HS, Arizona

2005 – Davis Eidahl – Perkin HS, Iowa

2004 – Dan Green – The Woodlands, Texas

2003 – Joe Newton – York Community HS, Illinois

2002 – Rich Trenoze – Bayonne HS, New Jersey

2001 – Don Behnke – Stevens Point HS, Wisconsin

2000 – Joe Newton – York HS, Illinois

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal