Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Kentucky's Bob Beatty is the 2018 National High School Football Coach of the Year

Thursday, January 25, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


Easton, PA – January 24, 2018 - The National High School Coaches Association is proud to announce Bob Beatty, head coach at Trinity High School in Louisville, Kentucky, as the 2018 National High School Football Coach of the Year. The award is presented jointly with High School Football America, an NHSCA partner.



Coach Beatty has had an incredible career since becoming the head coach at Trinity in 2000, winning 13 Kentucky high school football state championships, including four straight state titles from 2005 through 2008. During a ten-year span from 2001 to 2010, Beatty’s teams captured eight state titles.



This past season, Trinity won its second straight Kentucky Class 6A title a perfect 15-0 record, garnering the Shamrocks a No. 4 ranking in the final High School Football America Top 100 national rankings. Beatty’s overall record at Trinity is 224-35 with four undefeated seasons. Trinity will bring a 30-game win streak into the 2018 season.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Beatty,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Bob has established Trinity as one of the best programs in the nation during his nearly two decades as the school’s head coach. He’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”

Photo: Alton Strupp/Louisville Courier Journal


“Coach Beatty has created a level of excellence at Trinity that places the Shamrock program as one of the best in the nation,” said Jeff Fisher, head of the NHSCA Coach of the Year Nominating Committee and founder of High School Football America. “This past year, Trinity, once again, played one of the toughest schedules in the country, which is something the program has been doing for quite a while. He’s won 86.5% of his games, which places him among the all-time greats in high school football.”



Beatty is the first Kentucky high school football coach to receive the honor.



Throughout 2018, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community for the 2017-18 school year by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each honoree will receive a beautiful trophy. In addition, the honoree will also be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that is currently being designed.



Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Football Coach of the Year:

2017 – Bruce Rollinson, Mater Dei HS, California

2016 – Gary Joseph, Katy HS, Texas

2015 – Roland Smith, Miami Central HS, Florida

2014 ­– Tom Westerberg, Allen HS, Texas

2013 – J.T. Curtis, John Curtis HS, Louisiana

2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS, South Carolina

2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2005 – Charles “Corky” Roger – The Bolles School, Florida

2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal