Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Iowa's Hal Rossow named 2017 NHSCA Boys' Golf Coach of the Year

Wednesday, June 21, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is proud to announce Hal Rossow, head coach at Panorama High School in Panorama, Iowa as its National High School Boys’ Golf Coach of the Year.



Rossow closed-out a 38-year coaching career at Panorama High School in the spring with the school’s fourth straight state meet appearance.  Rossow led Panorama to 2A state championships in 2015 and 2016.  The Iowa High School Golf Coaches Association named Coach Rossow its Class 2A Coach of the Year at the end of each of those championship seasons.



Over the past four seasons, Panorama’s team amassed an incredible 280 wins with just 19 losses. This past season, Rossow’s team finished with a 70-7 record with a third place finish at the state tournament with two all-state selections.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Rossow as National Boys’ Golf Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Rossow commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the golf course makes him an great choice for this honor.”



Coach Rossow is the third coach from Iowa to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Golf Coach of the Year.  Dave Messerli of Marion won the award in 2015 and Richard Gaard of Decorah won it in 2008.


Throughout 2017, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.



Past NHSCA National Boys’ Golf Coaches of the Year:

2016 – Bob McPhail – Norwich Free Academy - Connecticut

2015 – Dave Messerli – Marion HS - Iowa

2014 – George Bitner – Spring Lake HS, Michigan

2013 – Jim Jacobsen – Bergen Catholic HS, New Jersey

2012 – Jeff Doherty – Edmond North HS, Oklahoma

2011 – Larry Ries – Hunterdon Central HS, New Jersey

2010 – Darrell Berglund - Hazen HS, North Dakota

2009 – Jim Bennett - Grosse Ile HS, Michigan

2008 - Richard Gaard - Decorah HS, Iowa

2007 – Terry Nelson - Whitefish HS, Montana

2006 – Marty Donlon - St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2005 – Rob Prentiss - St. Charles North HS, Illinois

2004 – Bill Roller – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2003 – Mark Kedy – Ada HS, Oklahoma

2002 – Mike Ellis - Canlais HS, Maine

2001 – David Hutton - Grandville HS, Michigan

2000 – Wayne Everett – Kingston HS, Tennessee


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal