Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Strasburg's Bud Weisgarber named the 2016 NHSCA Softball Coach of the Year

Wednesday, June 8, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to Bud Weisgarber, head coach at Strasburg High School in Strasburg, Ohio as its National High School Softball Coach of the Year.

This past season, Weisgarber won his 700 th career game. Weisgarber, who is a member of the Ohio High School Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association Hall of Fame, started the Strasburg softball program back in 1985 and has coached the Tigers to seven state championships.

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Weisgarber,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Weisgarber has built Strasburg into one of the best high school softball programs in Ohio. He’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”

Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Photo Credits: Times Reporter

Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Softball Coach of the Year.

2015 – Ashley Barber-Strunk, Sherwood HS, Maryland
2014 – Monte Sherrill – Alexander Central HS, North Carolina
2013 – Robert Earl Radford – Northern HS, Maryland
2012 – Mark Schusterman – Gulliver Prep, Florida
2011 – Debbie Holcombe - Byrnes HS, South Carolina
2010 - Robert Iamurri - Naples HS, Florida
2009 – Larry Niemeyer - Jefferson HS, Iowa
2008 – Wally Hausdorf - William Cullen HS, New York
2007 – Tony Scarbrough - Baker HS, Alabama
2006 – Jeff Griffith - Cactus HS, Arizona
2005 – James McClanahan - Fort Bend Elkins HS, Texas
2004 – Sammy Dunn -Vestavia Hills HS, Alabama
2003 – Glen Rutenbar - Bartow HS, Florida
2002 – Gary Adams - Crescent HS, South Carolina
2001 – Dwayne Ross – Weatherford HS, Texas
2000 – Shelly Bollin - Brazoswood HS, Texas

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal